Let's document here our attempts to redefine the role, composition and activity of the new OSS Watch Advisory Committee.

Old Advisory Committee page

http://www.oss-watch.ac.uk/advisory/tof.xml

Remit of the Advisory Committee

The advisory committee will provide expert advice to OSS Watch to assist it in the maintenance and development of the service. The committee will also monitor OSS Watch's activities and contribute to the strategic direction of the service, through consultation and through the receipt of bi-annual progress reports from OSS Watch's manager.

Terms of Reference

The advisory committee:

Minimum Membership of the Advisory Committee

The OSS Watch Advisory Committee will consist of:

The manager of OSS Watch will serve as secretary to the committee. Membership in the OSS Watch advisory committee will be for two years in the first instance, with additional members invited to join by the OSS Watch manager in consultation with the Chair (the minimum membership, as identified above, to apply throughout).

Advisory Committee Meetings

The OSS Watch advisory committee will meet two times per year. OSS Watch will set up an electronic mailing list for communication between members of the advisory committee. Proceedings of the advisory committee will be made publicly available.

New Advisory Board page

[please list here ideas about what the new AB should be like]

Members to Invite

0. All existing members

1. Steve Loughran (steve.loughran@hpl.hp.com)\

2. James Governor (jgovernor@redmonk.com) \

3. Jono Bacon (jono@ubuntu.com)/

4. John Mckenzie (jmckenzie@rsc-south-west.ac.uk)\

5. Paul Walk (p.walk@ukoln.ac.uk)\

6. Dave Flanders (d.flanders@jisc.ac.uk)\

7. Scott Wilson (scott.bradley.wilson@gmail.com)\

8. Phil Hands (phil@hands.com)

9. Stormy Peters (stormy@gnome.org)\

10. Mark Shuttleworth (via Claire Newman claire.newman@canonical.com)

11. Jo Shields (jo.shields@oerc.ox.ac.uk)\

12. Mike Gilbert (michael.gilbert@isis.ox.ac.uk) => Brendan Spillane \

"new nanny" job spec (Mary Poppins)

"If you want this choice position Have a cheery disposition Rosy cheeks, no warts! Play games, all sort

You must be kind, you must be witty Very sweet and fairly pretty Take us on outings, give us treats Sing songs, bring sweets

Never be cross or cruel Never give us castor oil or gruel Love us as a son and daughter And never smell of barley water

If you won't scold and dominate us We will never give you cause to hate us We won't hide your spectacles So you can't see Put toads in your bed Or pepper in your tea Hurry, Nanny! Many thanks

Sincerely, JANE & MICHAEL BANKS"

Suggested timeline for having a more effective AB in place by Autumn 09 [updated - very few replies over hols]

1. by Wed 15 Jul: collect ideas on what needs to be changed in the current 'OSS Watch Advisory Committee' page (see above)

1. by Wed 15 Jul: collect long list of people we would like to have on the new board

2. by 17 Jul: shortlist to 10 persons

3. by 31 Jul: collect their replies

4. by 4 Sep: contact old Advisory Committee members, ask them if they want to continue to stand

5. by 14 Sep: collect replies, list old members willing to continue

6. by 18 Sep: send invitations to new potential members

7. by 30 Sep: collect replies, list new members willing to sit

8. by 10 Oct: combine old and new members lists, email new committee with suggested dates for 1st meeting

Old committee members

OSSWatchWiki: AdvisoryCommittee (last edited 2013-04-15 13:56:19 by localhost)

Creative Commons License
The content of this wiki is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 England & Wales Licence.

OSS Watch is funded by the Joint Information Systems Committee (JISC) and is situated within the Research Technologies Service (RTS) of the University of Oxford.